
Location: St. Elizabeth, Jamaica
Hampton School originated from the Munro and Dickenson Trust, established through Robert Hugh Munro’s will in 1797. Munro left a portion of his estate to his nephew Caleb Dickenson and the Churchwardens of St. Elizabeth to create a school for poor children. Dickenson expanded the estate, and upon his death in 1821, he left instructions for the funds to be used for education. However, it was not until 1855 that part of the original bequest was used, leading to the formation of the “Governors and Trustees of Munro and Dickenson Free School and Charity.”
In 1856, a free boys’ school was opened, later known as Munro College. A girls’ school was started in 1858 at Potsdam but moved several times before settling in Stirling. By 1884, the girls’ school had fewer than 12 students. In 1885, a new headmistress, Miss McCutcheon, reopened the school at Malvern House, but by 1891, it was relocated to Hampton, formerly Fort Rose. The property was purchased in 1896, an…



